Spanish women’s team, live: Montse Tomé’s list and the decision of the champions

39 players resign from the National Team!

This is the full statement that Lola Gallardo has uploaded to her Instagram account and in which 39 players sign, 21 of them World Cup winners. Claudia Zornoza and Athenea del Castillo, two of the champions, do not appear among the signatories.

“The players of the Absolute National Team, recent world champions, as well as their teammates, wish to express, as they did on August 25, 2023, their enormous discontent after the events that occurred at the medal ceremony at the Women’s World Cup. and the subsequent extraordinary assembly of the Royal Spanish Football Federation. The events that unfortunately everyone has been able to see are not something specific and go beyond sports. In the face of these acts we must have zero tolerance, for our teammate, for us and for all women.

After several weeks after what happened, we want to make public the holding of various meetings with the REF in which the staff have expressed clearly and forcefully the changes that we understand are essential to be able to move forward and reach to a structure that does not tolerate or take part in such degrading events.

The players of the Spanish team have at all times had an open attitude to dialogue, seeking to convey clear and reasoned reasons that we understand are necessary to be able to carry out our work at the highest level with the respect we deserve.

The specified changes to the REF are based on zero tolerance for those people who, from a position within the REF, have had, incited, hidden or applauded attitudes that go against the dignity of women. We firmly believe that strong changes are required in the leadership positions of the REF and specifically, in the area of ​​women’s football. All of these people understand that they must be far from the system that should protect us and that unfortunately is far removed from an advanced society.

Based on the above, we break down in detail the changes requested so that this type of attitude does not happen again, and in order to have absolute transparency:

Restructuring of the women’s football organization chart
Restructuring of the presidential cabinet and General Secretariat
• Resignation of the president of the REF
• Restructuring of the communication and marketing area
• Restructuring of the integrity department

Today, as we have transmitted to the RFEF, the changes that have occurred are not enough for the players to feel in a safe place, where women are respected, there is a commitment to women’s football and where we can give our maximum performance.

We want to end this statement by expressing that the players of the Spanish team are professional players, and what fills us most with pride is wearing the shirt of our team and always leading our country to the highest positions. Therefore, we believe that it is time to fight to show that these situations and practices have no place in our football or in our society, that the current structure needs changes and we do it so that the next generations can have a much more equal football the height of what we all deserve.

Ivana Andres
Aitana Bonmati
Alba Redondo
Alexia Putellas
Catalina Coll
Enith Salon
Esther González
Irene Paredes
Irene Guerrero
Jennifer Hermoso
Laia Codina
Maria Perez
Marion Caldentey
Maria Isabel Rodriguez
Oihane Hernández
Olga Carmona
Ona Batlle
Salma Paralluelo
Rocio Galvez
Teresa Abelleira
Elene Lete
Fiamma Benítez
Inma Gabarro
Eva Navarro
Martha Cardona
Love Everything
Jana Fernandez
Patricia Guijarro
Lola Gallardo
Mine is Eizagirre
Ainhoa ​​Moraza
Maria Leon
Sandra Cloths
Claudia Pina
Too often
Leila Ouahabi
Laia Aleixandri
Lucia Garcia
Andrea Pereira


The Post Spanish women’s team, live: Montse Tomé’s list and the decision of the champions
Originally Posted on

Leave a Comment